How Much Will You Get From Your Florida Impairment Rating?
If you were in an accident at work and that resulted in an injury, you must seek medical attention. When the doctor you meet with labels you with a Florida impairment rating you are undoubtedly wondering what that will mean in terms of financial support. Navigating Florida workers’ compensation laws and benefits isn’t an easy task. It can get quite intricate and confusing. When you work with a qualified Florida workers’ compensation attorney, you don’t have to worry about all the ins and outs of the laws by yourself. You can take a lot of the burden off of your shoulders and also know that your claim is being handled correctly.
How Do You Calculate Florida Impairment Rating?
When a doctor determines that you have received enough medical care and that your recovery is complete so you can return to work, they will say you have reached your “maximum medical improvement,” or MMI for short. You will then be assigned a Florida impairment rating. This can happen either after you have been given an MMI or 6 weeks before your temporary benefits are complete. You will be assigned a rating somewhere in the range of 0% to 20%. When you are assigned a high rating, that means that you were the victim of a very serious injury. Should you be in the 20% range, that could imply that your injuries were so severe that you are permanently disabled and unable to work.
According to Florida statutes, a licensed osteopathic, chiropractic, or podiatric doctor is qualified to assign an injured employee a Florida impairment rating. Following the Florida Uniform Permanent Impairment Rating Guidelines which include many standards to judge the level of seriousness of an individual’s injuries, a qualified doctor can provide a fair assessment. Due to the many guidelines that span over 100 pages, calculating a rating is not simple but in fact, very complex. A doctor must evaluate any restrictions on the range of motion, the extent of broken bones, the aftermath of health from surgeries, if pre-existing conditions have been negatively impacted, and many more issues a person is suffering from that may pose a problem for them with relation to doing their job.
Florida impairment benefits are paid in the following way:
- For each percentage point from one percent to 10 percent a victim can obtain two weeks of benefits.
- For each percentage point from 11 to 15 percent a victim can obtain 3 weeks of benefits.
- For each percentage point from 16 to 20 percent a victim can obtain 4 weeks of benefits.
- For each percentage point including 21 percent and more, a victim can obtain 6 weeks of benefits.
The amount you receive will be 75% of your normal wages. When an individual is rated over 20% and may receive benefits until you are 65 years of age.
Get Help with Florida Workers’ Compensation Benefits Today
Stephen M. Andrews, P.A.is a Tallahassee workers’ compensation attorney who can help you with your claim. Call the Tallahassee workers’ compensation law firm immediately after you have been injured on the job at (850) 906-9599 to schedule your free consultation.
Deprecated: Function WP_Query was called with an argument that is deprecated since version 3.1.0!
caller_get_postsis deprecated. Use
ignore_sticky_postsinstead. in /var/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5663