Can I Still Get Florida Workers' Compensation if I am Late Reporting My Accident?
If you had an accident at work that caused you to be injured or harmed, you should report your accident to your employer immediately. There are many situations where an accident happens and the victim doesn’t feel the immediate symptoms of their injury so they don’t believe that their accident was significant. Because of this, the victim may not report their accident to their employer. The decision to shrug off your accident could have terrible consequences.
If you are injured at work in Florida, connect with Stephen M. Andrews, a Florida workers' compensation attorney for all of your questions, and for legal guidance on the Florida workers’ compensation process.
Why Do You Need to Report Your Florida Workplace Injury Immediately?
Every state has their own guidelines as to how they handle workers’ compensation. There are deadlines that dictate when you need to have your workplace accident reported in many states, and in most cases, the amount of time a victim has is not long. In the state of Florida, an employee that is injured at work has 30 days to report their injury accident. According to section 440.185 of the Florida statutes governing Florida workers’ compensation law, if you fail to report your situation within 30 days, you are likely going to be denied benefits.
There are several reasons why a victim of a Florida workplace injury has their claim denied and late reporting is one of them. If you didn’t report your accident injury because you didn’t believe that at the time it occurred it was that bad but found out later as your symptoms worsened that it actually was a serious injury, you can still file a claim. It is going to be much harder to secure compensation because the insurance company and potentially your employer may argue that your injury didn’t actually happen at work. They may also say that the pain wasn’t as severe as you claimed. If you are able to obtain compensation because you can prove that the injury took place at work, it is likely that the insurance company will offer you a settlement that is much lower than you need and deserve.
When you have a Tallahassee workers’ compensation attorney on your side, you have a fighting chance to file a successful claim even if it was late and obtain a fair settlement. An attorney who knows how to build a strong claim and how the Florida workers’ compensation process works, may also be able to expedite the process of getting you the settlement you deserve.
Speak with a Florida Workers’ Compensation Attorney Today
Stephen M. Andrews specializes in helping victims of Florida workplace injury accidents secure the most compensation possible in their settlements. Whether you are starting the Florida workers’ compensation claim process or if you are trying to figure out what next steps to take if your claim was denied, contact Stephen M. Andrews. You can schedule a free consultation with Stephen M. Andrews by calling (850) 906-9599. You deserve the best legal representation possible and Stephen M. Andrews provides the highest quality services to injured workers in Florida.
Deprecated: Function WP_Query was called with an argument that is deprecated since version 3.1.0!
caller_get_postsis deprecated. Use
ignore_sticky_postsinstead. in /var/www/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5667